The Western Australian Curriculum and Assessment Outline lays out the Kindergarten to Year 10 curriculum for all children in Western Australia.

It provides teachers and supporting staff with information to help plan and assess learning programs, and report those outcomes.

What learning areas does the Western Australian Curriculum cover?

There are eight learning areas:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Humanities and Social Sciences (including history, geography, civics and citizenship and economics and business)
  • The Arts
  • Languages
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Technologies. 

These learning areas remain broadly consistent with the Australian curriculum but have been modified to suit Western Australian teachers and the children they teach.

You can find out about the specific content for each learning area and each year level from Pre-primary to Year 10 at School Curriculum and Standards Authority.

At Hillarys Primary School we use the following resources integrated into our lesson plans: